Le Clos Jacquet
Pays de Caux
This walk, which leaves from the centre of Auffay, traces the history of the area.
Along the way, here you are on Rue Victor Hugo. To the east of this street and up to the junction of rue Jean-Macé and rue Sauvage, used to stand a chapel called Clos Jacquet and its leper hospital. Located far away from the houses in Auffay and deprived of any social interaction, the place was chosen by local dignitaries to become a hospital for those suffering from pleura diseases. The building was closed down in 1530 when the disease had been eradicated. Nowadays it has been converted into a private house, there is only a part of the chapel that remains nestled in a green setting.
It lasts : 02h 30
Difficulty : Difficult
Distance : 10 km
Leaves from : AUFFAY, Place centrale
Arrives at : AUFFAY, Place centrale
Entretien : OFFICE DE TOURISME TERROIR DE CAUX - 02 35 83 57 41 - firstname.lastname@example.org
Tarred path : 64%